Volunteering Opportunities

 

So many generous people who live or work in San Mateo County want to help Big Lift kids. If you would like to volunteer, here are a few ways you can get involved.

 

Read to Children or Be a Classroom Aide / Volunteer in Our Big Lift Communities

La Honda-Pescadero

Cabrillo Coastside (Preschool)
Elizabeth Schuck
elizabeth.anne.schuck@gmail.com

La Honda-Pescadero Unified School District (K-12)
Kassi Talbot
ktalbot@lhpusd.com

Puente de la Costa Sur
Abby Mohaupt
amohaupt@mypuente.org

Daly City (Jefferson Elementary School)

IHSD/Head Start
Dalenna Smith
dsmith@ihsdinc.org

Jefferson Elementary School District (PreK-8)
Lisa Zimiga
lzimiga@jeffersonesd.org

Daly City Partnership
Pat Bohm
pat@dcpartnership.org

Coastside (Cabrillo)

Coastside Children’s Programs (Preschool)
Agnes Chan
agnes@coastsidechildren.org

HSD/Head Start
Dalenna Smith
dsmith@ihsdinc.org

Cabrillo (K-12) Migrant Program
Rosalva Segura
segurar@cabrillo.k12.ca.us

South San Francisco

Peninsula Family Service (Preschool)
Christine Herndon
cherndon@peninsulafamilyservice.org

IHSD/Head Start
Dalenna Smith
dsmith@ihsdinc.org

South San Francisco Unified School District (K-12)
Cregg Ramich
cramich@ssfusd.org

City of South San Francisco
Laura Armanino
laura.armanino@ssf.net

 

Volunteer in a Structured Tutoring Program to Help Big Lift Kids With Their Reading, K-3 Grades

Experience Corps Bay Area →
(Tutors age 50+ for children in Daly City and/or South San Francisco)
Eric Nelson
enelson@aspiranet.org

 

Overview of Volunteer Opportunities for Structured Tutoring / Reading Programs in Other Communities in San Mateo County

Peninsula Literacy Coalition →
Caroline Bauhaus
caroline@peninsulaliteracy.org

 

If You Are a High School Student and Want to Volunteer

Redwood City Youth Literacy Council and Youth for Literacy →
(For Literacy Programs and Book Drives)
Ryan Traynor
redwoodcityreads@comcast.net

The Big Lift’s Inspiring Summers Program
San Mateo County Library
Stephanie Saba
sabas@smcl.org

 

Other Individual Volunteer Opportunities or Project Days

HandsOn Bay Area →
(Community Service / Volunteering Organization)